COMPARISON
Colistin vs Daptomycin
5 attributes held for at least one of the two. 5 differ. Each value carries the register it came from and the date that register was read.
Answer
Colistin is authorised or registered in 7 and Daptomycin in 10 of the 10 registers read. Colistin: highest phase Phase 4 (after approval). Daptomycin: highest phase Phase 4 (after approval). 2 registered trials include both.
States no view on which is preferable, safer or more effective. Not medical advice.
| Colistin | Daptomycin | |
|---|---|---|
| Registered trials differs | 130 clinicaltrials.gov · 2026-10-03 | 132 clinicaltrials.gov · 2026-10-03 |
| FDA label differs | FDA-approved: Cortisporin TC openfda · 2026-10-03T17:23:44.062Z | FDA-approved: Daptomycin openfda · 2026-10-03T17:23:44.062Z |
| EU authorisation differs | Nothing on record ema read 2026-08-31 | Authorised ema · 2026-10-03 |
| EU authorised on differs | Not checked no record of "authorisedOn" for colistin | 2006-01-19 ema · 2026-10-03 |
| ATC code differs | Not checked no record of "atcCode" for colistin | J01XX09 ema · 2026-10-03 |
SIDE EFFECTS
Most common side effects, each beside its own placebo
| Side effect | Colistin | placebo | Daptomycin | placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acute kidney injury | 30.3% | 33.9% | - | - |
| Creatinine increased | 20.2% | 23.5% | - | - |
| Sepsis | 9.6% | 10.4% | - | - |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increase | 4.4% | 5.7% | - | - |
| Hypokalemia | 4.4% | 4.8% | - | - |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increased | 3.9% | 3.5% | - | - |
| Blood bilirubin increased | 3.9% | 5.7% | - | - |
| ALT increased | 3.1% | 1.3% | - | - |
| Anemia | 2.6% | 5.2% | - | - |
| Hypoalbuminemia | 2.2% | 3.9% | - | - |
Trial register Colistin: 1 placebo-controlled trials; Daptomycin: 0. Each peptide is compared with placebo in its own trials, not with the other: a dash means the event is not in that peptide's top list. Colistin side effects · Daptomycin side effects
LEGAL STATUS
Approval in each country read
| Country | Colistin | Daptomycin | Register |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | FDA-approved | FDA-approved | Regulator FDA |
| European Union | Not on the register | Authorised | Regulator EMA |
| United Kingdom | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator MHRA |
| Canada | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator Health Canada |
| Australia | Status unknown | Registered | TGA |
| Switzerland | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator Swissmedic |
| Brazil | Registado | Registado | Regulator ANVISA |
| Serbia | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator ALIMS |
| Singapore | Not on the register | Registered | Regulator HSA |
| Turkey | Ruhsatli | Ruhsatli | Regulator TITCK |
HEAD TO HEAD
2 registered trials include both
| 2024-516232-10-00 | Defining Antibiotic Levels in Intensive care patients (DALI-2) protocol - A multi-national pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic cohort study
to determine whether con Not stated · updated 2025-10-17 |
|---|---|
| 2025-520940-14-00 | TIME-TO-LIA : Optimal Duration of Antibiotic Therapy in Drained Pyogenic Liver Abscess: 3 weeks versus 6 weeks, a non-inferiority trial Not stated · updated 2025-10-06 |
Values reproduce public registers on the dates shown. This comparison states no view on which compound is preferable, safer or more effective. Not medical, legal or regulatory advice.
WEEKLY
Register Watch, weekly
New trials, approvals and enforcement actions. One email a week.