COMPARISON
Ciclosporin vs Semaglutide
5 attributes held for at least one of the two. 4 differ. Each value carries the register it came from and the date that register was read.
Answer
Ciclosporin is authorised or registered in 9 and Semaglutide in 10 of the 10 registers read. Ciclosporin: highest phase Phase 4 (after approval). Semaglutide: highest phase Phase 4 (after approval). 3 registered trials include both.
States no view on which is preferable, safer or more effective. Not medical advice.
| Ciclosporin | Semaglutide | |
|---|---|---|
| Registered trials differs | 1328 clinicaltrials.gov · 2026-10-03 | 861 clinicaltrials.gov · 2026-10-03 |
| FDA label differs | FDA label, application not recorded: VEVYE openfda · 2026-08-31T07:37:14Z | FDA-approved: OZEMPIC openfda · 2026-10-03T17:23:44.062Z |
| EU authorisation | Authorised ema · 2026-10-03 | Authorised ema · 2026-10-03 |
| EU authorised on differs | 2015-03-19 ema · 2026-10-03 | 2018-02-08 ema · 2026-10-03 |
| ATC code differs | S01XA18 ema · 2026-10-03 | A10BJ06 ema · 2026-10-03 |
SIDE EFFECTS
Most common side effects, each beside its own placebo
| Side effect | Ciclosporin | placebo | Semaglutide | placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punctate Keratitis | 5.8% | 4.5% | - | - |
| Nausea | - | - | 19.5% | 4.5% |
| COVID-19 | - | - | 17.0% | 17.8% |
| Diarrhoea | - | - | 11.8% | 4.5% |
| Constipation | - | - | 8.9% | 2.8% |
| Vomiting | - | - | 8.6% | 1.6% |
| Nasopharyngitis | - | - | 7.5% | 6.1% |
| Decreased appetite | - | - | 6.3% | 1.3% |
| Dyspepsia | - | - | 5.3% | 1.2% |
| Headache | - | - | 4.0% | 2.1% |
| Upper respiratory tract infection | - | - | 2.7% | 1.9% |
Trial register Ciclosporin: 7 placebo-controlled trials; Semaglutide: 50. Each peptide is compared with placebo in its own trials, not with the other: a dash means the event is not in that peptide's top list. Ciclosporin side effects · Semaglutide side effects
LEGAL STATUS
Approval in each country read
| Country | Ciclosporin | Semaglutide | Register |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | FDA label, application not recorded | FDA-approved | Regulator FDA |
| European Union | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator EMA |
| United Kingdom | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator MHRA |
| Canada | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator Health Canada |
| Australia | Registered | Registered | Regulator TGA |
| Switzerland | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator Swissmedic |
| Brazil | Registado | Registado | Regulator ANVISA |
| Serbia | Authorised | Authorised | Regulator ALIMS |
| Singapore | Registered | Registered | Regulator HSA |
| Turkey | Ruhsatli | Ruhsatli | Regulator TITCK |
HEAD TO HEAD
3 registered trials include both
| 2023-504159-29-01 | Safety and efficacy of oral semaglutide in hyperglycaemic patients after renal transplantation Not stated · updated 2026-08-27 |
|---|---|
| 2023-504159-29-00 | Safety and efficacy of oral semaglutide in hyperglycaemic patients after renal transplantation Not stated · updated 2023-07-17 |
| NCT03466567 | A Trial Investigating the Effect of Probenecid and Ciclosporin on the Concentrations of SNAC in Healthy Subjects COMPLETED · updated 2019-06-19 |
Values reproduce public registers on the dates shown. This comparison states no view on which compound is preferable, safer or more effective. Not medical, legal or regulatory advice.
WEEKLY
Register Watch, weekly
New trials, approvals and enforcement actions. One email a week.